Skip to content

SPUEDTC6535 – Podcasting

November 14, 2010
tags:

The topic of the week in our EdTech class was podcasting in the classroom: an idea that I am not completely sold on. The concept itself is interesting. I agree with Chris Shamburg (from the Student-Powered Podcasting podcast) that students can pick up some excellent 21st century skills when utilizing these kinds of resources in classes. I know that these skills are important, and that they are things that we, as educators, should be encouraging our students to learn. I even find the technology very interesting, and would love to learn even more about it so I might be able to use it in the future.

There are a lot of informational and interesting resources out there that give great information about the use of podcasting in education. Both of the videos that I tagged on delicious this week were exactly those type of videos: interesting and informative. Both entitles “Podcasting in the Classroom”, one was from a teacher from the United States, and the other was from teacher.tv, and was about a teacher in Great Britain.

Links:

http://www.teachers.tv/videos/podcasting-in-the-classroom

The first link (the youtube video) gave me some great perspective on why to use a podcast in the classroom, and what kinds of benefits could be gained from them. The second video, from teachers.tv, was more wide-sweeping, and explored not only why podcasts should be used, but how they could be implemented, how east they are to develop, and even provided example lesson plans about how to use them.

What I keep coming back to is how little time I already have in school to teach the things that I am obligated to teach. When it comes down to it, I’m finding myself slashing otherwise-significant chucks of my curriculum like a machete-wielding killer in a horror film, just to keep myself and my students on track for the end of the year. Given the other things I already am REQUIRED to teach – reading, writing, public speaking, etc. – I have to ask myself if it’s really worth taking an extra week or two of time to produce a podcast. In the case of my classes, I could see it easily being used to record a debate or explanation of materials that we have been covering in class. With this in mind, it would seem like it would be easier, and less time consuming, to practice those skills dictated by the curriculum, rather than add extra skills on top of those already mandated.

Even Shamburg agreed that podcasting was akin to an internet fad, and though I don’t think that it will be going away anytime soon, I would rather spend my time teaching student skills that I KNOW they will need as opposed to skills that they might need at some point in the future. In the end, every single one of my students can benefit from writing and practicing public speaking, but not every one of them will get the same return from creating a podcast.

Perhaps as the technology improves I will come around, but for the time being I prefer to remain a part of the “old-school”.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

