Skip to content

Standard 1: Instructional Planning

April 24, 2011

The artifact attached here is the curriculum that I designed for my 10th grade students who are assigned to read the book Night, by Elie Wiesel. The book is about the author’s experience surviving the Holocaust when he was a teenage boy. This curriculum satisfies the requirements in standard 1 – Instructional Planning: Designs and monitors long and short-term plans for students’ academic success. This document shows that I can design curriculum, and connect it to student goals and understandings.

Night – Understanding by Design Unit

While the artifact above was created during the course EDU 6524: Curriculum Design, at the same time I was taking the course EDU 6613: Standards Based Assessment. I used this opportunity to create assessments that could be used in conjunction with the unit that I designed. Those assessments (which are also included in my entry for Standard 5: Assessment) are also attached here, because I think that they are great examples of my ability to design long and short-term assignments that facilitate student success.

Reading Response Journals

Literary Terms Worksheet

Final Night Unit Test

Final Unit Essay

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

